I am participating in Blog Action Day today and the theme this year is The Environment. So let’s talk about it, shall we?

What do you do to help the environment? Of course, there are many easy solutions that you can make part of your daily habits. Like recycling. It’s so simple! It drives me crazy when people just toss paper in to the garbage instead of the recycling. Did you know you save 2400 lbs of carbon dioxide a year if you recycle half your waste? James and I always buy recycled paper as well. It takes 70% less energy to make recycled paper. If you need to find a recycling center in your area, go here.

For my Christmas gift last year, James bought me a grove of trees from TreePeople, which we planted. Did you know that planting 5 trees will offset your carbon footprint for one year? I urge anyone one out here in the Los Angeles area, to become a member of TreePeople. They do valuable things for our community.

James and I only use compact fluorescent lightbulbs. Did you know that if every family in America switched to cfl’s, we’d reduce carbon dioxide by 90 billion pounds?

There are so many simple things we can do to help, and I can honestly say being “environmental” is a way of life for James and I. Of course, there are the more difficult or more expensive undertakings, like buying a hybrid (which is the first thing we will do when we can afford to buy James a new car) I love LA, but I would say it’s biggest flaw is not having a good public transportation system. If I could have taken the train to work, I would have.

One of the biggest steps we have taken (about 3 years ago) was giving up red meat. Did you know that methane gas is the 2nd most significant greenhouse gas and cows are one of the biggest emitters of methane? And of course, eating as many organic products as possible.

So take a moment to analyze what you’ve been doing to help Mother Earth. And let’s make a pledge to add something to our list. I am going to work on insulation. We live in a really old apartment, and my new goal is to make sure that all the windows are properly weather-stripped. That will save at 1700 lbs of carbon dioxide per year. Let me know what you are going to do!! Give everyone some suggestions

