Guess what?? You’ll never guess so I’ll just tell you! I quit my job! I feel like screaming it from the rooftops, “I’m mad as hell, and I’m not going to take it anymore!!!”‘

Well, that’s how I was feeling Wednesday. But Friday was a different feeling altogether. Bliss. Utter happiness. Against my better judgment and the advice of all my friends, I quit. I have never been so reckless or irresponsible in my life. But my sanity and well-being were at stake. It was getting so bad that I was contemplating asking my doctor for depression medication. I have been listless and tired, depressed and angry for many months. James and I came to the conclusion that it was my job making me this way (I was totally happy when I was on leave for my surgery)

I guess it all started snowballing after I got my “Promotion”. And by “Promotion” I mean, more work, same pay. And no training. Basically I was told that I was going to take on all the files of my previous counterpart,  and learn how to do her job in 3 hours (yes, that was all the training I was given) for no pay. I asked for the raise and I got the standard, the market is on a downward cycle right now and upper management won’t approve. “But I want to let you know, Leslie, that we appreciate all that you have done for us, and we value you.” So, I asked HR to give me a copy of my pay range, to see where I’m at. “You have to ask your manager for that.” Which I do. I get the run around for 2 weeks, “I have to ask management for that.” Then, “We had to ask HR for it.” Then finally, “No, we won’t give it to you. But I can tell you that you are within your range. And let me reiterate  that we appreciated all your work and loyalty.” HA!!!

That was on Wednesday. I called James, told him what I was going to do, and he said go for it. I handed in my resignation yesterday. And let me tell you, Friday was one of the best days I’ve had in a long time. When I left, my cheeks were hurting because I had been laughing and smiling so much.

So, now I’ve got to find a job! But I am not worried. So, if anyone in the LA area knows of any creative type jobs, ie theatre, music, scrapbooking  industry etc. Just let me know.  🙂

