I have not had a chance to post about one of the best musicals I have ever seen! James took me to see “Wicked” at the Pantages on Wednesday night. What a wonderful night. We took the metro since parking is so expensive over there. I love taking the metro. It’s so hassle free. I wish that it actually went all over the city, though. But that’s a different topic altogether!

Wow! What a show! Usually when I go to see a show, I prepare myself to be slightly disappointed. No one ever sings as well as the recorded version, or the sets won’t be thrilling… there’s always something. (I’m really hard to please. When I went to see Les Miz, I was terribly disappointed by the women singers… blech! Miss Saigon was so bad, it was like watching a community theatre production.) So, before it started I told James, “I’m not expecting these ladies to be all that great. I mean, they’re no Idina or Kristen.”

I was wrong.

For those of you who don’t know the show, “Wicked” is the story of the Wicked Witch of the West (Elphaba). It tells the story about how Elphaba, a powerful, smart girl, who is an outcast at school because of her green skin. She becomes best friends with Glinda, the flighty, popular beautiful girl. Glinda (Megan Hilty) was awesome. Hilarious and beautiful and a top notch singer. Her role almost steals the show, it’s that funny. Elphaba blew me away, people! Just an amazing belter! I could go on and on about their techniques, but you get the picture. Carol Kane stars as Madame Morrible and she’s fantastic as the scheming teacher!

The set – wow!
wicked-2.jpg
That’s a working dragon up at the top.
wicked-3.jpg
We got pictures of the overture and the curtain call – can you see Elphabal in black?

And the costumes – I would love to be in the chorus of this show. There was not one bad moment during the night The CD does not do the show justice at all – there’s so much more to it than what they give you on the CD.

Which now brings me to Emily‘s challenge: birds. While I didn’t exactly do this, I kept in theme with flying things. I made my card from the playbill. See the flying monkeys? And one of the songs (the show stopper) is “Defying Gravity”.

wicked.jpg

